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Fiscal Impact Summary 

This bill creates provisions regulating the sale of electronic nicotine delivery systems, known as 
ENDS products. The bill requires ENDS products manufacturers to provide an annual written 
certification that they meet the bill’s requirements to the Attorney General, whose office shall 
develop and maintain an ENDS directory. The bill makes it unlawful for retailers, wholesalers, 
or distributors of ENDS products to sell, offer for sale, or distribute unauthorized ENDS 
products; prohibits retailers from purchasing resale ENDS products from unlicensed entities; 
prohibits ENDS product manufacturers from offering for sale any ENDS product not on the 
directory; and makes it unlawful for an ENDS manufacturer to misrepresent or present false 
information related to an ENDS product. The Attorney General, the State Law Enforcement 
Division (SLED), the Department of Revenue (DOR), and local authorities are authorized to 
seize and destroy non-compliant ENDS products possessed by a distributor or retailer at the 
expense of those entities. The bill also establishes associated penalties and certification fee 
schedules. The revenue from these penalties and fees must be remitted to the General Fund. 
 
Judicial reports that the number of civil actions in circuit court may increase as a result of this 
bill. However, Judicial anticipates handling the potential increase in civil actions with existing 
appropriations.  
 
SLED reports that it will need to hire two new agents per region (for a total of eight statewide), 
as well as one supervisor to manage the investigative work for enforcement. Personnel costs for 
these 9.0 FTEs will be $984,412, of which $665,146 is salary and $319,266 is fringe. 
Additionally, equipment and operating expenses are expected to be $245,300 annually, and non-
recurring equipment expenses are expected to total $657,504. Therefore, SLED anticipates an 
increase in expenses of $1,887,216 in FY 2025-26 and $1,229,712 each year thereafter due to 
this bill. SLED anticipates requesting General Fund appropriations to cover these expenses. 
 
The Office of the Attorney General reports that it will need to hire 1.0 FTE, an additional 
Attorney III, to manage the additional responsibilities required by this bill. The office anticipates 
expenses to total $250,000 for salary and fringe for this FTE beginning in FY 2025-26. The 
office will request General Fund appropriations for these expenses. 
 
DOR reports the bill will require the agency to update forms and applications, modify and update 
online systems, and potentially rent secure storage. Additionally, DOR anticipates hiring 1.0 FTE 
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at a total cost of $90,000 for salary and fringe. However, DOR anticipates covering these costs 
with current appropriations. As a result, the bill will have no expenditure impact on DOR. 
 
The bill will increase General Fund revenue from the new certification fees. Louisiana’s 
definition of a vapor product is substantially similar to the definition of ENDS products provided 
in this bill, and the Louisiana Vape Directory provides a list of all certified vape products 
approved for sale in Louisiana, including those that have a market order, are currently under 
review by the FDA, or are marketed under a stay order.1 According to the directory as of 
December 2024, there are 472 vapor products on the market in Louisiana. Assuming South 
Carolina’s ENDS product market is similar to Louisiana’s, this bill will increase General Fund 
revenue by up to $944,000 in FY 2025-26 for the initial $2,000 application fee and $236,000 
each year thereafter for the $500 annual renewal fee. Also, this bill may increase Other Funds 
and local fund revenue for fines and penalties resulting from violations of the provisions of this 
bill that may be retained by the state or local agency bringing the action. Further, the bill will 
also increase General Fund revenue from penalties and General Fund, Other Funds, and local 
revenues from court fines and fees that may be assessed for violations of the provisions of this 
bill. However, the number of violations that may occur is unknown. Therefore, the total amount 
of General Fund, Other Funds, and local revenue that may be generated beginning in FY 2025-
26 is undetermined. 

Explanation of Fiscal Impact 

Introduced on January 29, 2025 
State Expenditure 
This bill creates provisions regulating the sale of ENDS products by requiring manufacturers 
selling such products in South Carolina, either directly or through a third party, to annually 
execute and deliver to the Attorney General, under penalty of perjury, a written certification 
containing specific information and documentation. This requirement will go into effect August 
1, 2025. Manufacturers must also notify the Attorney General within 30 days of any material 
change to the certification.  
 
The bill also requires the Office of the Attorney General to operate a directory listing all ENDS 
manufacturers providing certifications and denoting their respective ENDS products by October 
1, 2025, or on the date that it is first made available, whichever is later. This directory must be 
made publicly available on the agency’s website and updated monthly. The bill also establishes 
the means by which corrections to the directory may be made by a manufacturer, as well as the 
means by which the Attorney General may remove a manufacturer or its ENDS product(s) from 
the directory. A determination by the Attorney General to include or to remove from the 
directory a manufacturer or its ENDS product(s) is subject to review by the Administrative Law 
Court.  
 
Each ENDS manufacturer must pay a non-refundable fee of $2,000 to the Attorney General’s 
Office for each ENDS product the first time the manufacturer submits a certification form. 
 
1Louisiana Office of Alcohol and Tobacco Control, VAPE Directory & Information, Retrieved February 4, 2025, 
https://atc.louisiana.gov/media/51qow4ja/vape-directory-december-2024.xlsx, 
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Thereafter, the Attorney General must charge the manufacturer an annual renewal fee of $500 
for each ENDS product. Fees received for this purpose, as well as any penalties collected, must 
be deposited into the General Fund. 
 
Manufacturers who offer for sale any ENDS product not listed in the directory are subject to a 
fine of $1,000 per day the product is offered for sale until the unauthorized ENDS product is 
either removed from the market or properly listed in the directory. Upon notification that there is 
a material change to the status of an ENDS product requiring it to be removed from the directory, 
distributors and retailers must remove the product from their respective inventories and return it 
to the manufacturer for disposal within a prescribed timeframe. The Attorney General, SLED, 
and DOR are authorized to seize and destroy any non-compliant ENDS products in possession of 
a distributor or retailer at the expense of those parties. SLED’s responsibilities also include 
performing inspections and conducting hazardous waste disposal among other enforcement 
activities. 
 
The bill prohibits retailers, wholesalers, or distributors of ENDS products to sell, offer for sale, 
or distribute ENDS products not listed on the directory. A violation of the latter constitutes an 
unfair and deceptive trade practice and is punishable as follows: 
 

Sale, Offer of Sale, or Distribution of Unauthorized ENDS Products  
by Retailer, Wholesaler, or Distributor 

1st Violation Civil Penalty of ≤$500 
2nd Violation Within 36-Month Period Civil Penalty of ≥$750 but ≤$1,000 
3rd Violation Within 36-Month Period Civil Penalty of ≥$1,000 but ≤$1,500 
4th or Subsequent Violation Within 36-Month Period Civil Penalty of ≥$1,500 but ≤$3,000 

 
Other violations involving ENDS products are punishable as follows: 
 

Other Violations Involving ENDS Products 
Purchase of resale ENDS products by retailer from 
unlicensed entities 

Fine of $500 per offense 

False representation/misinformation provided by 
ENDS manufacturer 

Misdemeanor for each false 
representation; fine of $500 per 
offense 

 
The Attorney General may recover costs of investigation, expert witness fees, costs of the action, 
and reasonable attorney’s fees for actions brought to enforce these provisions. Retailers, 
wholesalers, and distributors are subject to unannounced compliance checks, the results of which 
will be made public upon request. 
 
Judicial. This bill may increase the number of actions brought in circuit court. Judicial 
anticipates any increase in the caseload in circuit court can be managed within existing 
appropriations.  
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State Law Enforcement Division. This bill requires SLED to conduct enforcement activities, 
including performing inspections of manufacturers, retailers, wholesalers, and distributors of 
ENDS products and disposing of hazardous waste. SLED reports that it will need to hire two 
new agents per region (for a total of eight statewide), as well as one supervisor to manage the 
investigative work. Recurring costs for personnel are expected to total $984,412, of which 
$665,146 is salary and $319,266 is fringe; recurring operating expenses (e.g. gas, phones with 
hotspots, mobile/portable 800 radio service, uniform replacement, training/travel, technology 
licenses, evidence storage & destruction, and deferred vehicle maintenance) are expected to total 
$245,300, and non-recurring equipment expenses (e.g., vehicles, vests, firearms, holsters/duty 
belts, uniforms, and computer equipment) are expected to total $657,504. Therefore, SLED 
anticipates expenses due to the bill will be $1,887,216 in FY 2025-26 and $1,229,712 each year 
thereafter. SLED anticipates requesting General Fund appropriations to cover these expenses. 
 
Attorney General. The Office of the Attorney General reports that it will need to hire an 
additional Attorney III to review ENDS products certifications. The office anticipates a total 
salary and fringe expense for the new FTE will be $250,000 beginning in FY 2025-26. The 
office anticipates requesting General Fund appropriations to cover the increase in expenses.  
 
Department of Revenue. DOR reports the bill will require the agency to update forms and 
applications, modify and update online systems, and potentially rent secure storage. 
Additionally, DOR anticipates hiring 1.0 FTE at a total compensation cost of $90,000, of which 
$60,000 is salary and $30,000 is fringe. However, DOR anticipates covering these costs with 
current appropriations. As a result, the bill will have no expenditure impact on DOR. 
 
State Revenue 
This bill establishes an initial certification fee of $2,000 for each ENDS product for which a 
manufacturer submits a certification form and a $500 annual renewal fee. This revenue will be 
deposited in the General Fund. Louisiana’s definition of a vapor product is substantially similar 
to the definition of ENDS products provided in this bill, and the Louisiana Vape Directory 
provides a list of all certified vape products approved for sale in Louisiana, including those that 
have a market order, are currently under review by the FDA, or are marketed under a stay order. 
According to the directory as of December 2024, there are 472 vapor products on the market in 
Louisiana. Assuming South Carolina’s ENDS product market is similar to Louisiana’s, this bill 
will increase General Fund revenue by up to $944,000 in FY 2025-26 for the initial $2,000 
application fee and $236,000 each year thereafter for the $500 annual renewal fee. 
 
Further, this bill specifies that fines and penalties resulting from a violation of the provisions of 
the act will be retained by the state or local agency bringing the action. This bill may increase 
Other Funds revenue, depending upon the fines and penalties paid due to an action brought by a 
state agency. Additionally, this bill may increase General Fund and Other Fund revenue due to 
the increase in fines and fees for the new offenses brought in circuit court. However, as the 
number of such offenses that might occur in a given year is unknown, the revenue impact is 
undetermined. 
 
  



 

__________________________________  
Frank A. Rainwater, Executive Director  
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Local Expenditure 
This bill specifies that local law enforcement agencies have the authority to enforce the 
provisions of this bill. We anticipate this bill may have a local expenditure impact, depending 
upon local law enforcement’s workload for enforcement of this bill.  
 
Local Revenue 
This bill specifies that fines and penalties resulting from a violation of the provisions of the act 
will be retained by the state or local agency bringing the action. This bill may increase local 
revenue, depending upon the fines and penalties paid due to an action brought by a local agency. 
Additionally, this bill may increase local revenue due to the increase in fines and fees for the new 
offenses brought in circuit court. However, as the number of such offenses that might occur in a 
given year is unknown, the revenue impact is undetermined. 
 
 


